Page 1 Page 2
Nestled within a land area of 11.34 hectares with a well-groomed garden, is a palace, now known as The Royal Museum (Muzium Diraja).
Located along Jalan Istana in Kuala Lumpur, it was the official residence of all Yang Di-Pertuan Agong and Raja Permaisuri Agong since 1957.
From 1957 onwards, it has been used by 13 Yang Di-Pertuan Agongs, with His Majesty Sultan Mirzan of Terengganu the last to occupy it as official residence in 2011. Sultan Mirzan was the youngest Agong of Malaysia at that time.
Since then, this palace has been closed and became the Royal Museum, while the new official residence of the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong has been relocated to the National Palace Complex on Jalan Duta, Kuala Lumpur, on November 15, 2011.
The Royal Museum’s main palace complex consists of two building blocks – the palace gallery and Throne Hall (Balairung Seri).
The two-storey palace gallery was built in 1928 in Palladian architecture style. Eight halls and rooms on the ground floor and 15 rooms on the upper floor are open to visitors to view. Do take note that photography is not allowed.
Meanwhile, the Throne Hall was built in the 1960s, which has a banquet hall, the Rulers’ meeting room, Kings’ lounge and apartments for Yang Di-Pertuan Agong and Raja Permaisuri Agong.
TURN NEXT PAGE TO CONTINUE READING…
Page 1 Page 2